chocolate peanut butter pretzel brownies

So…today is my birthday. For the past few weeks I’ve been trying to decide what kind of dessert I wanted for my birthday, and one combination kept popping up…chocolate and peanut butter. I’ve never met a dessert I didn’t like, but chocolate and peanut butter is definitely one of my favorite combinations. I thought I was going to make cheesecake with chocolate, pb and pretzels, but after my cream cheese shopping fiasco, I gave up on the idea of birthday dessert all together. That lasted all of three days. I mean, what’s a birthday without some sort of birthday dessert?!

These brownies have it all.

Chocolate – Yep

Peanut Butter – Yep

Pretzels – Yep

Super easy to make – Yep!!

Happy Birthday to me!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Brownies

1/2 c semi-sweet chocolate chips (check the ingredients on your bag of chocolate chips to make sure they are dairy free)

2 oz unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped

8 tbsp Earth Balance Buttery Spread

3 tbsp cocoa powder

1 1/4 c sugar

6 oz soy or coconut milk yogurt (I used So Delicious Coconut Milk vanilla yogurt)

2 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp salt

1 c flour

1/3 cup peanut butter (I used White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter from Peanut Butter and Co. but just use whatever kind you have at home)

16 mini pretzel twists

Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8×8 baking pan with foil and spray the foil with non-stick cooking spray.

Melt the butter and both chocolates in the microwave for 1-2 minutes, stirring often. Add the cocoa powder and mix until mixture is smooth. Set mixture aside to cool a bit.

In a medium bowl, mix the sugar, yogurt, vanilla and salt until combined. Add the melted chocolate mixture and stir until combined. Add the flour and mix until all flour is mixed into the wet ingredients. Be careful to not overmix.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and fill to the edges of the pan. Smooth the top. Place spoonfuls of peanut butter on top of the brownie batter and use a knife to swirl peanut butter into the brownie batter. Place pretzel twists on top of the brownie batter.

Bake for 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out with a few moist crumbs attached. Let brownies cool completely before cutting. Or just eat them warm out of the pan like I did. These are birthday brownies, so feel free to eat them however you like.

One thought on “chocolate peanut butter pretzel brownies

Leave a Reply

