vegan lemon zucchini bread

Ahhhh…Summer! The season of flip flops, camping, no school, a kid who thinks he should stay up late because the sun sets later, long hot nights in a house with no air conditioning, and zucchini. Lots and lots of zucchini.

I harvested these out of my garden yesterday. All of them. I’m afraid to go look and see what’s ready to pick today.

I love zucchini cooked any way, but my absolute favorite way to enjoy it is shredded and mixed with flour, sugar and vanilla and baked into a lovely loaf of zucchini bread. And because I can’t leave well enough alone, I have been known to make many different varieties of zucchini bread. Chocolate chip orange, almond, chocolate peanut butter, vanilla bean and my all-time favorite, lemon zucchini bread. Before I went vegan, I made this bread with lemon curd. Unfortunately, lemon curd contains eggs and butter which makes it not vegan. For this recipe I used Clearbrook Farms Lemon Fruit Tart and had great results. I found this filling in a small kitchen store in Pittsburgh and brought it home with me on the airplane. I have seen different brands of lemon tart filling at my local King Soopers grocery store, or you can always use lemon curd if you are not vegan.

This bread is melt-in-your-mouth moist, and it packs a great lemony punch. And it contains zucchini, so it’s good for you! Right?!

Vegan Lemon Zucchini Bread

6 oz soy or coconut milk yogurt (I used So Delicious Coconut Milk plain yogurt, but you could also use vanilla or lemon flavored yogurt)

1 c lemon tart filling

1 c canola oil

2 c sugar

2 tsp vanilla

1 tsp lemon extract

Zest of one lemon

3 c shredded zucchini

3 ¼ c flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

Heat oven to 350 degrees and prepare two loaf pans with non-stick cooking spray. For baking, I always use the spray that contains flour. Doesn’t matter which brand, just so long as it contains flour.

In a large bowl, mix the yogurt, lemon tart filling, oil, sugar, vanilla, lemon extract and lemon zest together until well combined. Mix in the shredded zucchini. Add the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon to the wet ingredients and mix until all of the dry ingredients are incorporated. Be careful not to over mix.

Pour the batter evenly into the two loaf pans and smooth out the top. Bake for 65 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center of the bread comes out clean. Let cool 10 minutes in the pan before turning it onto a cooling rack to cool completely.

Zucchini bread can handle the freezer like a champ! A lot of times I will double this recipe and make extra loaves of bread to keep in the freezer. I wrap the bread tightly in two layers of plastic wrap, then I put it in a freezer bag and stick it in the freezer. You can also freeze shredded zucchini to use later in the year. If you use frozen zucchini in this recipe, make sure you defrost it and squeeze out all of the water before adding it to the bowl.

Leave a Reply

