vegan zucchini bites

Well, we still have that pesky zucchini problem. Darn plants just keep producing. Lots of zucchini means I need to get creative figuring out how to get rid of this stuff new meals to serve my family. A while back, I saw this recipe on Pinterest and thought it sounded pretty good, and it looked easily adaptable. I’m kicking myself for not trying these sooner.

These zucchini bites are kid approved!

My version of these are a cinch to make, especially if you have a food processor, and they can be customized depending on the veggies you have on hand. I used zucchini and carrots, but you could use any variety of veggies – potatoes, turnips, sweet potatoes, parsnips, summer squash, etc. Don’t like jalapeños? Just leave them out. Really like jalapeños? Add a few more. I ended up with about three cups of shredded veggies, so aim for that amount no matter which veggies you use.

The only downside?? I only used one zucchini in this recipe, which means I have eight more sitting on my counter, just waiting to get used up.

Vegan Zucchini Bites

1 medium zucchini

1/2 medium onion (I used a red onion, you can use whatever you have on hand)

2 medium carrots

2 jalapeños

2 tbsp fresh parsley, finely minced

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 c panko breadcrumbs

3 tbsp olive oil

Heat oven to 400 degrees and grease two mini muffin pans. Shred zucchini, onion, carrots and jalapeños. I shredded them in my food processor, which took about two minutes. If you don’t have a food processor you can shred the zucchini and carrots by hand, and just finely mince the onion and jalapeños. Place the shredded veggies inside a colander and place the colander inside a large bowl. Put the veggies in the refrigerator for about an hour to let the extra water seep out of the veggies. After the veggies have sat for about an hour, take them out of the fridge and squeeze as much extra water out of them as you can.

Put the veggies in a bowl and add the parsley, salt, pepper, breadcrumbs and olive oil. Mix well with a spoon, or your hands (easier) until the breadcrumbs and oil are completely mixed into the veggies.

Use a small scoop or a spoon and fill each muffin cup to the top. I used a small cookie scoop, and it was the perfect amount for each cup. I ended up with 30 zucchini bites.

Bake for 18-20 minutes. The tops and sides of the zucchini bites will turn golden brown. Remove from the oven and let sit for two minutes before removing them carefully from the muffin tins.

One thought on “vegan zucchini bites

Leave a Reply

