vegan seitan and mushroom stroganoff

Remember how I said that I used to hate eggplant, but now I like it? You’re never going to believe this, but I used to hate mushrooms, too. I really wanted to like them, and I’d try them often, hoping that my tastes had changed. I love raw mushrooms, but cooked mushrooms do nothing for me.

Let’s take a brief trip back in time to 1998. My sister and I were on a plane headed to Seattle to visit some family. I was vegetarian then, and my mom was nice enough to order a vegetarian meal for me on the flight. (Remember when you could get an actual meal on a plane??!!) Anyways, imagine my disappointment when the flight attendant handed me my meal…A huge portabello mushroom cooked in mystery sauce and served with rice. I think I helped Megan finish her meal on that flight. I was a very helpful older sister.

Flash forward to 2012. Matt loves mushrooms, so I try and be a nice wife and buy them for him to use. We got oyster mushrooms in our veggie delivery service, and I decided to try them, just to make sure I still didn’t like mushrooms. Only that’s not what happened at all. I tried them, I loved them, and now I can’t get enough of them. Oyster mushrooms on pizza, oyster mushrooms in stir fry, oyster mushrooms in everything!

Now onto the second star of this meal…seitan! I had never tried seitan before going vegan; I’m not even sure I knew it existed before then. I have since been introduced to the wonderful world of seitan, and there is no turning back. Seitan is also known as “wheat meat” and is used as a meat substitute. The texture is very similar to meat, and it’s great at absorbing the flavors of what you cook it in. Last weekend I attended the Colorado Veg Fest, and I stumbled upon the booth of the Denver Seitan Company. Wow! These guys know their stuff. They have four flavors, three of which I sampled. I ended up buying their Chickenesque and Sureizo flavored seitan, and we have loved both. I am patiently waiting for them to sell their amazing seitan at some store, any store, in Colorado Springs.

What happens when you have Chickenesque seitan that you can’t wait to try, oyster mushrooms that you want to eat and vegan sour cream that you have to use before it goes bad? Yep, seitan mushroom stroganoff happens.

Let’s get to the recipe already, right?!

Vegan Seitan Mushroom Stroganof

1/2 lb dried pasta (I used casarecce, feel free to use your favorite pasta/whatever is in your pantry)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 c oyster mushrooms, chopped (or whatever mushrooms you like/have in your fridge)

8 oz seitan, chopped (Most plain seitan from the grocery store will come either cubed or in strips, either of those would be fine in this recipe)

1 c vegetable broth

1 c vegan sour cream (I used Tofutti Sour Supreme*)

Salt and pepper to taste

Fill a large pot with water and bring to a boil. When water is boiling, add a generous pinch of salt and cook pasta according to the package directions.

Heat a non-stick skillet or saute pan to medium hot and add the olive oil. Put the onions, garlic, mushrooms and seitan in the pan and stir. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring often. You are looking for the onions to get translucent and the mushrooms and seitan to brown. Add the broth, cover the pan and let it simmer until most of the broth has cooked out, about 5 minutes.

Turn the heat to low and stir in the sour cream. Add salt and pepper to taste, and serve the stroganoff over the pasta.

*A few thoughts on vegan sour cream…I have tried two varieties of vegan sour cream, Tofutti Sour Supreme and Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet Sour Cream. I’m honestly not sure I could even taste a difference between the two. I buy whichever one my grocery store sells, or whichever is the cheapest. Both are creamy and have great flavor. I think they taste like dairy sour cream. If you served this but didn’t tell someone they were eating vegan sour cream, I doubt they would have any idea. I will happily eat this stuff on my tacos or mexican pizza.

Leave a Reply

