vegan peanut butter oatmeal breakfast bars

Breakfast…The most important meal of the day. Also, the meal I feel I have the least creative ideas for. On weekends, we like to have a long, leisurely breakfast. Usually something indulgent like vegan waffles or tofu scramble. During the week I need something quick, healthy and portable. It also has to be something that my son will eat. Cereal and almond milk, oatmeal or bagels with peanut butter or cream cheese are all staples around this house, but it’s easy to get burnt out on those options. Plus, most boxed cereal is pure sugar and not vegan. What to do?? Enter my friend Jenny to save the day.

Jenny told me about this recipe that she saw on Pinterest. She told me how easy it was to make and how great they tasted, and I was sold. One tiny issue – they weren’t vegan, but that was easily fixed. The original recipe also calls for banana, which I’m not crazy for, so I made mine banana-free. These bars come together in no time, so you really have no excuse for not making them.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Breakfast Bars

Adapted from this recipe at http://www.gingerbreadbagels.com

1 1/2 c quick cooking oats
1/4 c packed brown sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 c non-dairy milk (I used almond milk, use your favorite)
1/2 c natural applesauce
1/4 c creamy peanut butter

For a slightly more indulgent breakfast bar, replace the vanilla extract with cocoa bean (chocolate) extract and stir in 2 tbsp of vegan chocolate chips.

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees, and grease an 8×8 square pan. In a medium size bowl, mix together the oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Add in the extract, non-dairy milk, applesauce and peanut butter. Mix very well, making sure the peanut butter is completely incorporated. If you are adding chocolate chips, stir them in at this point.

Put the batter in the prepared 8×8 pan, making sure you push the batter to the edges and smooth the top. Bake for 20 minutes. Let cool and cut into squares.


Want to follow my vegan board on Pinterest?? Click here.

3 thoughts on “vegan peanut butter oatmeal breakfast bars

  1. Pingback: vegan peanut butter oatmeal breakfast bars « Earnest Nest

  2. I am currently making these bars, and instead of adding chocolate chips I put in rasins. I snuck a little bite before I put them in the oven and it litteraly felt like pure happieness dancing in my mouth! The most amazing simple bar I have ever made. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

