recipe review: vegan mac ‘n’ cheese

Very early on in my vegan adventure I attempted to make vegan macaroni and cheese. It was a disaster, but I learned a few important lessons that night. First, I will never again make a macaroni and cheese recipe that calls for tahini. Second, I will always use a mild tasting milk when making macaroni and cheese. On my first attempt, the combination of tahini and almond milk made for a dish that tasted like peanut butter macaroni and cheese. It was not pleasant, and I haven’t made it since.

It’s fall now, and that means it’s time to start making warm, hearty comfort food.  Enter macaroni and cheese. I found this recipe on Pinterest, and thought I’d give it a try. This vegan mac ‘n’ cheese recipe is from Chloe Coscarelli. I followed this recipe exactly the first time around, minus the broccoli.

Is this the best macaroni and cheese I’ve ever had? Nope. Is it the worst? Nope. It was ok. There are a few small changes I’d make if I ever make this again.

Adding the agave at the end seems like overkill to me. I should have trusted my taste buds and just left it out. It kicked the sweetness up to a level I don’t want in a dish that’s supposed to be savory.

The picture on her website shows a bright yellow sauce, similar to the stuff in the blue box. Mine was nowhere near that color, so I added a tiny bit of turmeric for color. If my four-year-old is going to eat this, it has to be appealing to the eyes.

This recipe makes a LOT of macaroni and cheese, and I would definitely cut this recipe in half next time if I was cooking for only the three of us.

I imagine this might taste better if I put the rest in a baking dish, topped with some breadcrumbs and popped it in the oven for a bit. We ended up doctoring it up a bit with some salt and pepper.

In the end, none of us were crazy about it. It wasn’t bad, it was just ok, but for a recipe to make it into our regular rotation of meals, it has to be more than just ok.

Leave a Reply

