product review: wholly wholesome organic pie dough

I am not afraid to admit that I have no problem using ready-made pie dough. Sure, making a pie completely from scratch is satisfying, but you know what else is satisfying? Spending time outside of my kitchen, which is easier to do when I’m not making and rolling pie dough. Unfortunately, most ready-made pie dough is not vegan. Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Dough and my local store brand of pie dough both contain lard.

Wholly Wholesome Organic Pie Dough is suitable for vegans. I found it in the freezer case at Whole Foods, but according to their website, this is sold in a number of stores in my area, so you can probably find it outside of Whole Foods. There are two rolled pie crusts in the box, suitable for a 9″ pie.

Here’s what I didn’t like about this product:

The product comes frozen, so obviously you have to thaw it out before you use it. I put mine in the fridge overnight to thaw, but was disappointed to find that it wasn’t soft enough to work with the next day. It really needs to sit out on the counter for a bit before you use it.

The dough is rolled, so ideally you would just need to unroll it and press it into your pie plate. This was not my experience. I tried to unroll the dough, but it was stuck together, so it ripped. I eventually gave up trying to unroll it. I ended up balling it up and rolling it out on my own. The end result was not pretty, but it worked. I let it sit on the counter for about 30 minutes, so it may have gotten too soft.

Here’s what I did like about this product:

Taste and texture!! This pie dough really tastes great. Instead of a fruit pie, I made a savory vegetable pot pie with the dough. It wasn’t too sweet, and was a great compliment to the pot pie. I know it would taste just as good if the filling was sweet. The crust turned a beautiful golden brown and was both flaky and tender.

In the end, I was really pleased with this pie dough. It might not be the easiest to work with, but the taste sure makes up for the hassle.  I will definitely be buying this again.

Leave a Reply

