product review: alternative baking company cookies

It took me traveling to Hawaii to discover the amazing cookies from Alternative Baking Company. I was looking for vegan food at the Colorado Springs airport, and I found one lonely vegan Coconut Macaroon cookie. I decided to try it, and I’m so happy I did. While we were in Hawaii we did some shopping at Papaya’s Natural Foods, and they stocked a huge variety of these cookies. I tried Almond Muffin, Colossal Chocolate Chip, Phenomenal Pumpkin Spice, Double Chocolate Decadence and Explosive Espresso Chip.
According to the package, these cookies contain no dairy, no eggs, no honey, no hydrogenated oils, no cholesterol, no preservatives, no artificial ingredients and no refined sugars.

Here’s what I like about these cookies:

They are delicious! The flavors I’ve tried are all amazing. Pumpkin Spice is my favorite so far, with chocolate chip not far behind. The texture of these cookies is also great. Every cookie has been soft and chewy.

Here’s what I don’t like about these cookies:

These bad boys pack a whopping 400-500+ calories per cookie. The package claims there are two servings per cookie, but it’s easy to eat an entire cookie on your own. Obviously these are cookies, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that these are not a low-calorie food. Just be warned that you probably shouldn’t make these a normal part of your diet, as much as you will want to. Yes, I tried six flavors in the course of a week, but I shared each of those cookies with someone else. Plus, I was on vacation so I used that as my excuse to splurge all week long.
These cookies are also pretty expensive. In Hawaii they cost close to $4 per cookie. If you order them online through their website they will cost you $2.60 per cookie, but you have to order a 15 cookie minimum. Shipping is free for orders in the US, which is nice. You get what you pay for though, and these cookies are worth the splurge.
It’s probably safe to say that I am obsessed with these cookies. I’m definitely going to look for them when I get back to Colorado. These cookies will make the perfect occasional splurge for me. Anything more than the occasional splurge would not be good for my waistline or my bank account, although I know my taste buds would love it.

Leave a Reply

