stocking a vegan kitchen: what’s in my refrigerator

I make most of our food from scratch, and the one thing that keeps me sane in the kitchen is having a well-stocked pantry, fridge and freezer. Keeping plenty of whole food ingredients in my kitchen makes coming up with meals at 5 pm during the week much easier. Here’s a list of the food I regularly keep stocked in my fridge. You’ll notice that it’s probably not much different from what non-vegan cooks keep in their kitchen.

Fresh vegetables and fruit – Our fridge is always well-stocked with fresh fruit and vegetables. Chop and prep veggies when you get them, that way they are ready to eat when you’re hungry.

Non-dairy milk – Our daily milk is plain almond milk. We send soy milk to school with our son because of nut allergies of other kids.

Non-dairy creamer – I use So Delicious Coconut Milk creamer and drink decaff coffee. Matt uses Silk Soy Creamer and drinks regular coffee. We are not coffee compatible.

Orange juice and grapefruit juice – OJ for Matt, grapefruit juice for me. We are also not juice compatible.

Daiya Cheese – We almost always have shredded cheddar and shredded mozzarella in the fridge.

Vegan lunch “meat” – I’ve only tried Tofurky Deli Slices, and I like them enough to stick with that brand.

Tempeh bacon – I like Lightlife Organic Smoky Tempeh Strips.

Non-dairy yogurt – I’m not a huge fan of eating yogurt by itself, so I use this for baking. I prefer So Delicious Coconut Milk Yogurt.

Earth Balance vegan buttery sticks – My fridge is never, I repeat, never without this stuff. I always buy the sticks because they can be used for cooking as well as baking.

Vegetable bouillon base – I use Better Than Bouillon Vegetable Base.

Tortillas – We always have both flour and corn tortillas in our fridge.

Bread – I like Food For Life brand bread.

Vegenaise, ketchup and mustard – Vegenaise on vegan burgers, Vegenaise on french fries, Vegenaise straight out of the jar. OK, maybe not the last one, but Vegenaise is gooooood! Yellow and Dijon mustard are both handy to have in the fridge.

Miso paste – I love to saute greens in miso paste or make miso soup.

One thought on “stocking a vegan kitchen: what’s in my refrigerator

  1. Most of this is quite familiar! I love the French vanilla so delicious creamer. I always forget about the earth balance sticks, but always have a tub open and one in reserve.

Leave a Reply

