my first vegan thanksgiving

This blog has been pretty quiet lately. Lots of cooking, baking and vegan eating has been going on, but not a lot of blogging has been happening. I do have a good excuse. I’m taking part in a leadership class and as part of that class I have a big project that I’m working on. This project involves lots of writing, editing and design work, which means the last thing I want to do most nights is more writing and editing. The good news is that graduation is in a few weeks, and then I can get back to devoting more time to this blog.

Yesterday I celebrated my first Thanksgiving as a vegan. Fellow vegans, I’m sure you’ve heard this one before – “What do you eat for Thanksgiving if you don’t eat turkey?” The answer?? A lot of amazing food. Even before I was vegan, the best part of Thanksgiving was always the side dishes. Give me stuffing with gravy and I’m a happy camper, and I know Matt would eat an entire pan of green bean casserole if left to his own devices.

I bought a Tofurky Roast for the three of us this year, but honestly, I think next year we will go without. We’ve had it before, so I knew we liked the flavor and texture, but we were never big fans of turkey, so it’s no surprise that we aren’t big fans of the Tofurky Roast. I’d rather save my calories for dessert or wine. 🙂

The sides we had were all amazing! Mashed potatoes, vegan stuffing (365 Organic Vegan Stuffing), corn, Brussels sprouts, cranberry sauce and last but not least, mushroom gravy. Let me tell you about this gravy. It was the most amazing part of the meal. The recipe is from Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero. Buy this cookbook and make the gravy. Put it on everything. My family has a tradition of putting creamed corn on top of our mashed potatoes instead of gravy. That’s how we’ve always eaten mashed potatoes for as long as I can remember, but not this year. This year I rebelled and put gravy on my potatoes. Have I mentioned how amazing it was??!!

I made a vegan dutch apple pie for dessert, had one slice and made my younger brothers take the rest home with them. Everything in moderation, right?

My first vegan Thanksgiving was a success, and I’m looking forward to many more years of a cruelty-free Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

