product review: sophie’s kitchen vegan seafood

Yes, I am a vegan. No, I don’t eat fish. I’m surprised at the number of times I get asked that question. It seems like people forget that fish are living, breathing creatures.

Sophie's Fish Fillets

One of my favorite pre-vegan meals was fish tacos. If a restaurant offered fish tacos, I ordered them. When I went vegan, I figured fish tacos were something that I just wouldn’t eat again, but I was (kind of) wrong. I discovered Sophie’s Kitchen Breaded Vegan Fish Fillets at Whole Foods a few months ago. I’ve tried the fish fillets a few times, and have been very happy with them. They taste great in fish tacos or with a little malt vinegar. They come four to a package, which means that our family of three usually ends up fighting over who gets the last one. The taste and texture of the fish fillets are great. They don’t have an overly fishy taste. The breading gets crispy when baked in the oven, and the fish stays moist and tender.

We recently tried the Sophie’s Breaded Vegan Shrimp, and I wasn’t as happy with it. I wasn’t a shrimp lover before going vegan, so that may have had something to do with my lack of enthusiasm for this product. Matt likes shrimp, and he liked the vegan shrimp just fine. As with many vegan faux-meat products, these can be a little pricey, especially for how many you get. Sophie’s Kitchen does have a printable coupon on their website for $1.00 off any one product.

Sophie’s Kitchen also makes other vegan seafood: vegan crab cakes, breaded vegan scallops, breaded vegan calamari, vegan prawns and vegan shrimp. Some of their products are gluten and/or soy free, if that is something you try to avoid. All of their products are non-GMO, which is something you should be paying attention to.

If you are vegan or vegetarian and miss seafood, you should give these products (or at least the vegan fish fillets) a try.

 

 

One thought on “product review: sophie’s kitchen vegan seafood

Leave a Reply

