vegan asian slaw

We had dinner with some friends last night, and I was tasked with bringing a salad. I remembered this recipe that I found on Pinterest, and thought it would be the perfect opportunity to try it out. I needed something that was quick and easy to throw together and vegan, obviously. I knew I didn’t have much time between work and dinner, so I let the grocery store do some of the work for me. I bought slaw mix from the produce aisles and shredded carrots and steamed edamame from the salad bar. The original recipe calls for 4 cups of coleslaw, but I changed it up and used a mix of coleslaw and broccoli slaw.

20130118_170305

It should be noted that I didn’t really do exact measurements of the salad ingredients. I just kind of eye-balled everything as I threw it in the bowl, and that worked out fine for me. I did measure the ingredients for the ginger-peanut dressing, and I also made a few small changes, swapping out some ingredients and leaving some out all together.

The salad was great last night, but would it hold up overnight and be just as good the next day, or would it become one soggy, wet mess? Not to worry! The salad stayed crunchy and was a delicious, filling lunch. Add a little grilled tofu, and you have the makings of a perfect, light dinner. I suggest making this salad about 30 minutes before you are going to eat that way the flavors have time to come together. Just give it a good toss before serving.

20130119_120958

Asian Slaw

Original recipe can be found here.

Dressing Ingredients:

1/4 c agave

1/4 c vegetable oil

1/4 c rice wine vinegar

1 tbsp tamari or soy sauce

1 tsp sesame oil

2 tbsp peanut butter

pinch of salt

1 tbsp fresh minced ginger

1 clove garlic, minced

Slaw Ingredients:

2 c shredded cabbage or coleslaw mix

2 c broccoli slaw

2 c shredded carrots

1/2 red bell pepper, julienned

1 c cooked and shelled edamame

2 green onions, finely sliced

1/2 c chopped peanuts

1/4 c chopped fresh cilantro

Extra peanuts for garnish

In a small bowl combine all of the ingredients for the dressing. Mix well until all ingredients, especially the peanut butter, are incorporated. In a large bowl combine all of the vegetables, the peanuts and the cilantro. Pour the dressing over the slaw mix and toss well, making sure the slaw is completely coated with the dressing. Let sit for 30 minutes before eating. Toss well right before serving. Serve with extra peanuts, letting people top their slaw with them if they choose.

Leave a Reply

