product review: wholesome chow gluten free lavender cake baking mix

We are celebrating Mother’s Day today. It’s a week early, but I’ll be out of town next Sunday, and my son is really excited about Mother’s Day. Really excited. A special day deserves a special dessert, and lavender cake is pretty fancy pants. Enter, Wholesome Chow Gluten Free Lavender Cake Baking Mix. I bought this mix awhile back from Nooch Vegan Market in Denver. I’d already made cookies today, and as much as I love baking, I knew I didn’t want to spend all day in the kitchen. This mix came together in less than 10 minutes, and was really easy to adapt. I made just a few tiny changes, and I’m glad I did.

Lavender Cake Baking Mix

Instead of 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar I used the juice of one lemon. I also added the zest of one lemon to the batter. I made my cake in a loaf pan, and I topped the cake with a (very) generous sprinkle of lavender vanilla bean sugar before baking. The recipe says to bake 25-28 minutes for a cake or loaf, but I had to bake mine for 35 minutes.

Cake

I waited as long as I could for it to cool down (5 minutes) before I tried a slice. I’m sad to say that I was kind of disappointed. The box said lavender, and the aroma was lavender, but the taste was vanilla. I was expecting something with a little more lavender flavor. In fact, the top of the cake was the only part that tasted like lavender, and that’s because it was sprinkled with lavender sugar. If I were to buy this again, I would definitely make a few more changes, like adding in my own dried lavender and vanilla or lemon extract for a more intense flavor.  As a cake mix, it is great. It’s easy to mix up, and it tastes good (just not like lavender.) In fact, if I buy this again, I’d probably buy the vanilla mix and then customize it however I want.

2 thoughts on “product review: wholesome chow gluten free lavender cake baking mix

  1. Great review. I often find things are often way over spiced or way under spiced. I guess the second of the two is the better of the two. I hope you had and have a lovely mother’s day.

  2. I have used this a couple of times – once with the vanilla frosting mix as well (I used the glaze recipe instead) – added lemon zest and more lavender and it was delicious. I do agree with adding flavour as they underflavour – which I think is a good idea as lavender can be very overpowering. I have used the vanilla cake mix as well and I added more vanilla and some cocao powder – it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

