vegan coconut lime zucchini muffins

Every year we harvest pounds and pounds of produce from our garden. We eat some, we can some and we freeze some. It seems that every year we shred zucchini and stick it in the freezer, only to find it there the next year. I’ve decided to try my best to use up the frozen produce in our freezer before we fill it with this year’s harvest. Yesterday I took all of our frozen tomatoes and made a delicious vegan marinara sauce. I ended up with 5 quarts of sauce! Today I figured it was time to do something with my shredded zucchini. I wanted to try a new flavor, and coconut lime was the one that won out.

Coconut Lime Zucchini Muffins

These muffins came together in no time. They are light, moist and delicious! The lime flavor is very subtle. Next time I make them I’ll probably add the zest and juice of at least one more lime. This recipe makes about 3 1/2 dozen muffins. You could also make this in a loaf pan and just adjust the cooking time to 50-60 minutes.

Coconut Lime Zucchini Muffins

Vegan Coconut Lime Zucchini Muffins

4 1/2 c all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

9 oz non-dairy yogurt (I prefer So Delicious Vanilla Coconut Milk Yogurt)

3 c white sugar

5 tsp coconut extract

1 1/2 c coconut oil

zest and juice of two limes

1 c shredded coconut

3 c grated zucchini

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl mix together the flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder. In a large bowl combine the yogurt, sugar, extract, oil, lime zest and juice. Mix until all ingredients are incorporated. Add the zucchini and coconut and mix well. Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Grease a muffin tin and fill 3/4 of the way full. I use a large cookie scoop to fill my muffin tins. Bake for 30 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes in the pan before transferring to a cooling rack.

One thought on “vegan coconut lime zucchini muffins

Leave a comment